Stashbusting for basics

Since this is Stashdown 2017, and I am trying valiantly not to bring any new materials or tools into my craft room unless I have a specific plan for them, I’m approaching the Summer of Basics as an opportunity not only to challenge myself to try new things and accomplish some skills-related goals, but to use fabric, yarn, and patterns that have been sitting in my stash.

The tie-dye style scarf on the bottom right is on its way to becoming the first of several Patsy skirts, and the pale pink fabric second from the top left is slated to be a Lisbon slip. I don’t have much of the striped linen on the top left, but I really love it and I think it could be a great boxy top. The striped fabric second from the top right would be great for a structured pair of shorts.

I’m pretty happy with the patterns I’ve tried so far, but there are a couple patterns in my stash that I haven’t used yet and a fair amount of fabric looking for a permanent home. I intend to make a pair of pants, ideally with fabric that would be appropriate for work, and either a dress or top that makes use of some of the lovely linen and lace that my grandmother gave me when I visited last summer.

 

Leave a Reply

