April’s Stashdown update

The top left is angora, and the rest is some mystery longwool that I picked up at a gathering at some point in the last few years.

I’ve been keeping track of my efforts to use up my stashed materials and to avoid acquiring new ones, and so far that has in a large part manifested as spinning. I finished spinning three skeins (of varying lengths) of wool that had been hanging around for a while, all dyed as roving or locks. These skeins are all in my “for sale” box, rather than in the fiber stash, so I consider it a success.

I received a care package from my dad with some gorgeous alpaca fiber, which unfortunately needs to be added to the stash, but since it’s so lovely I doubt it’ll stick around long! He sent two ounces of a light chocolate brown alpaca, and an ounce of similar-colored Romney top.

I also received a very sweet, generous Fibreshare package last week. My Fibreshare partner sent some KnerdString fingering weight yarn, some fingering weight yarn that she dyed herself, a cake of NatureSpun yarn, and some Unicorn Tails from Madeline Tosh. She also included a couple of very sweet pins (one in tribute to Kumquat, and one from Fancy Tiger Crafts), an adorable succulents-themed coloring book, some tasty caramels, and a FibreShare drawstring bag. What a lovely and thoughtful package!

From left to right: Knitpicks Stroll fingering in Thunderhead, Leading Men Fiber Arts’ Show Stopper in Industrial, Knitpicks Hawthorne Kettle Dyed in Blackbird, hand-dyed fingering from my Fibreshare partner, Knerd String 4-ply fingering in Rhymes w/ Seal, and Knitpicks Stroll hand-painted in Koi Pond.

The KnerdString and hand-dyed fingering yarn will join some other stashed yarns to  become a Find Your Fade shawl. I really love the design, which is no surprise since I think that Andrea Mowry can do no wrong! I’m not usually one to buy patterns or to knit what others are knitting, and I suppose I have a reputation for tinkering with patterns and making things up as I go along (I think I’ve earned that), but sometimes I go along with trends. I plan to follow the pattern relatively faithfully, with the exception of the ‘color-melting’ section between my first and second colors. I had enough of my first color for a few extra rows, and rather than let the last few yards of it languish in my stash for who knows how long, I added a couple additional rows of the color melting before continuing on with the second color. This is going to be a fabulous stash-busting pattern!

One thought on “April’s Stashdown update

Leave a Reply

