Sweater knitting

I finished another sweater last month, and while it’s gorgeous and I’m very happy with it, it’s highly impractical for Charleston… The original pattern is a steeked cardigan, with small cables running down either side of the front. It’s an attractive pattern, but the cables really didn’t do anything for me. I thought about making it a cardigan in my usual fashion, knitting flat rather than attempting the steeks, but the idea of a pullover sounded really nice. I wasn’t sure how the yoke would turn out, so I decided to make the sweater inside out- from the center up, then the center down. I made a provisional cast-on for the yoke, making the appropriate number of stitches for a size between small and medium (without the extra couple of stitches for the steek), beginning just where the sweater would be separated for the body and sleeves. I then followed the yoke pattern as written (more or less), and tried it on to make sure it was the right size and depth.

Once the yoke was finished, I picked up those provisional stitches and finished knitting as though it were a top-down sweater, separating for the sleeves and shaping a little at the waist. In the photo above, you can see (beneath the kitty, who loved snuggling with this when it was a WIP) the sleeves on holders and the body half-finished, with the yoke complete. I made some medium-length cuffs and a matching length hem, and aside from its Charleston-inappropriate weight, it’s a lovely sweater and it fits beautifully!

It’s strange to wear a Lopi sweater with shorts, but the cat seems to approve.

I wrote about my intentions to make this sweater a while ago, and I wonder if the time has come for it to be a reality. I have a couple other things on the needles, namely my colorwork socks, but I’d like something large and mindless to work on while listening to podcasts or in the car. I plan to knit this in the same manner as the Lopi sweater featured here- inside out, with the yoke as written, then finishing the body and sleeves top-down. I also plan, at this point, to make it as a pullover rather than as a cardigan. If I end up making it as a cardigan, I certainly won’t do the steeking. As time-consuming as it is, I’d happily purl in colorwork rather than cutting into something I made! It’s too permanent. Even the most well-worn of garments has the potential to be unraveled if necessary, as I’ve been experiencing with my navy and yellow socks, but once something is steeked, it’s beyond all hope!

Leave a Reply

