Colorwork

I’ve been making socks lately, which is a surprise to no one. As I’ve mentioned before, my Fair Isle socks (above, a few days ago before they were unraveled) have been on the back burner for a while. They were gorgeous, but unwearably narrow in the ankles and too long in the feet, so my choices were to either stash them away and never wear them, or unravel them and reuse the yarn. So I did both! I stashed them away for two years, and now I’m attempting them again, with a better understanding of both sock construction and Fair Isle tensioning.

In looking for a new project and some inspiration for the Fair Isle designs on my socks, I’ve stumbled across some absolutely fabulous patterns and charts that have me drooling. There’s nothing like some good Ravelry browsing to get my fingers itching to work on these complicated knits!

This image appears on Ravelry, © Jenise Reid

The above blanket immediately caught my eye. While I’m not a huge fan of the white background, and of course hexagonal designs aren’t all that helpful for Fair Isle striped socks, I am completely in awe of the designs and the endless color possibilities in the Persian Dreams blanket pattern. I’ve been obsessed with tile designs, mosaics, mandalas, and other geometric art for as long as I can remember, so putting it into a knit design is a no-brainer. I have a fair amount of fingering/sock yarn, but I think I might try this with worsted or DK yarn for a light throw blanket. While Charleston isn’t really a “need an extra blanket” kind of place, I just can’t stop looking at this pattern and all the gorgeous combinations that folks have come up with! I know I’ve been heading toward Stashdown, but might this be a reason to go shopping?

One thought on “Colorwork

Leave a Reply

