Too many WIPs

Since I last posted, I’ve been knitting non-stop. Between pussyhats and gift socks and long-term projects for myself, as of Friday afternoon I had 11 projects either on the needles or set up and ready to go. I’ve finished five of those so far, with some moderate progress made on a couple more.

My friend’s roommate, who makes gorgeous wooden boxes and lamps and cutting boards, asked me for a pair of socks a couple weeks back. He gave us a simple, very classy cheese board in exchange, and I finished his socks last night.

message_1484697665656

The bread was a whole wheat experiment that Wes made, and the cheese board is decidedly NOT for slicing!

img_20170123_082448

This is Frolicking Feet sock yarn from Done Roving Yarn, in the colorway Blue Jeans. The toes, heels, and cuffs are in KnitPicks’ Stroll sock yarn in Agate Heather, which is a go-to for neutral, complimentary sock accents. They’re my standard non-patterned toe-up, two-at-a-time sock recipe.

I also started socks for three members of my family, which is an exciting undertaking. Socks are relatively quick and satisfying, and I’m hoping they’ll be well-received.

20170126_073140

These are both Knitpicks’ Stroll sock yarn in the handpainted line, in Big Top (above) and Tiger Eye (below). The toes are both Heritage sock yarn solids. The third sock is still brewing, with another Knitpicks sock yarn for the main color and an undetermined contrast color for the toes, heels, and cuff.

20170126_073034

I haven’t finished my Syncopation socks or the lacy shawl, but they’ve been on the back burner while I’ve been churning out the Pussyhats. I also started a Lopi sweater, based on the pattern for Stapi in the book Knitting with Icelandic Wool. This book was written specifically for Reynolds/Istex Lopi yarn, and I’m excited to try my hand at making a yoked sweater.

Leave a Reply

