November already?

It’s been quite a while since I posted. With starting a new job, hurricane Matthew and the accompanying evacuation, teaching at Earthskills Rendezvous, studying for and passing the Security+ exam, the election disaster and accompanying emotional distress, hosting my mom and her partner for a week, and now getting sick with a cold, I have neglected you, and I’m sorry! I’ve been active on Instagram (feed to the right), so there have been some photos of the things I’ve been working on, but no posts.

My new job started off well, but Matthew loomed large after my second day, and we decided to evacuate at the last minute. Needless to say, I was a little distracted from crafting that week.

img_20161008_195544

img_20161009_082836When we returned to Charleston, we found this adventure waiting for us. The roof was damaged, but the hole was minor and Wes was able to repair it without too much trouble. My car was dented very slightly, but there was no broken glass or other damage. Overall, we were very lucky, and despite the lost crafting time, I’m glad we evacuated. The office closure also meant that my ability to attend Rendezvous was a little limited, but I was able to go for the weekend to teach a couple classes and see all the beloved adopted family I’ve collected over my lifetime. I had a number of skeins ready for the event store, though not as many as I was hoping.

img_20161023_173428Robin Hoodie came together successfully, and I’m planning to add a zipper (with no additional button band) and take the hood down a few inches to keep it from falling off or draping all the way down my back.

img_20161027_135437In addition to Robin Hoodie, I’ve been working on a few pairs of socks, including some using the delicious sock yarn I bought at Knitty City in New York in August. The colorway, appropriately named KC 10th Anniversary, is a limited edition dye lot made specifically for Knitty City’s 10th anniversary by the delightful Nooch Fibers.

15000182_1177671012322568_1621455662802577196_oMy grandma loved her shawl, and I’m now working on the socks with the other yarn she picked out.

img_20161108_132609The pattern is Sacre du Printemps, and I’m being as faithful as I can to the pattern. This is tough for me, but it’s a really lovely pattern, so it’s working out okay. I may need a pair of these for myself!

2 thoughts on “November already?

  1. Yeah it’s been a real good time lately. No stress to speak of, not apocalyptic or anything. No hurricane but our house sitter did ever so gently crash her car into our garage door…

    Like

Leave a Reply

