Spinning

All this summer, when it’s been too hot to have wool in my lap, I’ve been spinning. It doesn’t always make for good photos, and as you know I’ve been inconsistent with posting about my projects, so I haven’t mentioned it. However, in planning for Rendezvous, I’ve been finishing up a number of skeins and getting ready to sell these beauties.

img_8073Much of this yarn was hand-dyed, and all of it was spun on my Ashford wheel. There’s some mystery fiber in here (the second and third from the right were commercially dyed and I’ve had them in my stash for a long time, so I can’t say for sure what kind of wool they are), but I’m very proud of all of it.

img_20160829_075703I really enjoyed washing all of these skeins once they were spun and plied. Ten skeins is way too many to hang in the shower, like I normally do with my drying knits, and it was a rainy day, so I wasn’t going to hang anything on the clothes line. Luckily we have a screened-in porch, a weight bench, and a spare broom handle- the perfect set-up for weighting skeins in order to set their twist!

img_8072This weekend I’m finishing up plying this hand-dyed 2-ply Cheviot. I love dyeing roving before spinning it, since the color variations become a bit more inconsistent and a little less intense. Without overdyeing, the yarn will nearly always become a mottled pastel palette, which I think is just lovely.  The plying of two variegated strands makes for some interesting, rustic combinations.

Leave a Reply

