Sarahs Knitting Sweaters: Inertia

*This post is part of a knit-along series with my dear friend, Sarah. Check out all her posts, plus our previous joint shawl project, on her site Threaded Through.

IMG_8011Just as inaction led to further inaction, dragging my feet and feeling absolutely no desire to work on this thing, all of a sudden something switched in my brain and I was unstoppable. This knitter in motion remained in motion, and now my Amors Arrow sweater is finished, washed, and dried (rather than blocked), and I’m rather delighted with it. It’s clear that the almond-colored yarn is wool and the olive drab is not, and that’s just fine– the top needed to shrink up a little bit and the bottom ended up being just the right length and drape  for a boxy, wide tee-sweater. The lace is lovely, and as Sarah said, it’s complex enough to be interesting but straightforward enough to allow for conversation while knitting it. The last third of the project was perfect road trip knitting last weekend.

Screen shot 2016-07-04 at 2.27.37 PMHowever, it was not very smooth sailing with the written-out instructions, so I made myself a chart. All went well from then on.

IMG_7982I decided, in my usual fashion, not to bother with the binding off, casting on, hoping my head would fit through the hole, invariably screwing it up despite the opportunity to learn alongside Sarah, and then finishing off the whole ordeal with the anticlimactic drudgery of grafting all 111 stitches onto the back. Nope! I like Kitchener stitch, but hell if I’m doing more of it than I have to. Instead, I knit up the front as directed, then knit up the back in the same way and used a three-needle bind-off to join the shoulders. I bound off the front and back necklines using Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bindoff and called it good.

IMG_20160708_173616Once I sewed in all the ends and got it all squared away with a bath, I wasn’t as happy as I wanted to be with the way the shaping and rick-rack rib looked in this particularly thin olive yarn. So I’m considering ripping out the bottom few inches and knitting it back down, leaving the torso-hip section straight and using a simpler 2×3 rib band to balance it out. Again, Jeny’s bind-off will be the perfect way to finish. Of course, now that this knitter is at rest on this sweater, I will probably remain at rest, and since I’m already in motion on other projects, I’m pretty likely to remain in motion there too.

IMG_8015I love the lace pattern (I’ll likely use some variation of it in some future project) and how it makes a scalloped edge on the sweetheart neckline. I do really like the finished product, though this process confirmed for me yet again that I am a pattern-ignoring, top-down-knitting, non-measuring, non-counting, non-swatching, defiant kind of knitter. Tell me to do it a certain way and even if that way makes some sense, I must do it at least a liiiiiittle bit differently. I love taking ideas that are gorgeous and clever and making them my own– I must be able to try on my projects as I go, or I feel a sense of dread that things won’t fit, and then I overcompensate and they end up… odd. A little too long, a little too wide, a little more intense shaping than any human needs.

2 thoughts on “Sarahs Knitting Sweaters: Inertia

Leave a Reply

