A Liliopsida for Laurie

IMG_7918The other shawl I mentioned last week is a Liliopsida, knit for my friend Laurie. The yarn for this shawl came from a very sweet shop in Waxhaw, NC called Tangles Knitting on Main. I saw the Araucania Huasco in the bargain bin and couldn’t let it sit there- even though the colorway wasn’t quite me, it was too lovely to pass up. Plus, at 50% off, it was meant to be! The Malabrigo on the right is sock yarn, and I don’t have anything specific planned for it yet. I’m not sure I want to sit on it long enough to be able to wear it as socks. My first thought for the Huasco was to buy all six of the available skeins and make a sweater, but with lace weight in a variegated colorway, it made more sense to do something with a lower commitment. Plus there’s that Amors Arrow that I’ve been ignoring.

So, between that and the Harvey shaping up so nicely, the idea formed for a shawl. Around this time I also found out that a dear family friend was going through a rough time, and I knew it had to be. Despite some math issues (I just kept increasing without counting until I was a good deal past the number of stitches I should have had to start the lace… So I just figured out how many stitches some number of lace sections would be, added selvage, accounted for increases, and improvised.)

IMG_7934It’s a bit larger than I intended. Honestly, I’d call it more of a throw than a shawl. The blocking took up almost half of our porch.

IMG_7962I really love the lace border, and I hope she does too. I wanted to make her something soft and comfortable, like wearing a hug, and also pretty and delicate, just for her. The greens and purples blend together really nicely when knit up, so the whole thing has a muted, elegant effect. I’m not usually a fan of variegated yarns, but this is a lovely thing!

IMG_7959As a musician, she needs to dress up a few times a week for performing and attending shows, and I hope this wrap helps guard against the AC in concert halls and drafty churches. Thanks to my friend Katie for modeling the FO at our Mexican restaurant knit group last week!

One thought on “A Liliopsida for Laurie

Leave a Reply

