Sarahs Knitting Sweaters: Rick-Rack Ho-Hum and Startitis Overload

I’m working on my summer sweater, I promise, but I’ve also accidentally started a few projects and acquired some new yarn… So this post may not be as much of an Amors Arrow update as an overall call for help.

20160522_125448I took my sweater to the beach, and knitted a few rows while enjoying the sun and ocean beach. Bringing a cone of yarn to a sandy place to which I have to haul everything may not have been the smartest idea, but it was vaguely productive until the sun fatigue started setting in. I ended up reading and napping, and the sweater sat by and probably felt a bit neglected.

IMG_7905Unlike Sarah, whose lovely though unplied Yarnia blend has caused her a troubling rick-rack ribbing experience, I’m not having a hard time with the bottom band. Despite that, I’m just not enjoying it very much. I’ve more or less gotten the back-and-forth correct, alternating the row instructions to end up with the “rick-rack” intact, but it really seems like a lot more trouble than it’s worth. I’m glad to be at the stockinette now, although I think that once the thing is finished and blocked, it’ll be the right combination of pleasing and unobtrusive. After all, the focus should be on the lace top and the sweetheart bustline, not on the bottom hem. So, onward I go, ignoring my potential objections all the way.

IMG_7911On some other needles, I’ve continued working on my lacy socks. They’re gorgeous, I love them, and I can’t wait for them to be wearable (despite the fact that their availability has nothing to do with the weather and whether socks are called for). I need to put these away and leave them alone until it’s almost fall, but I just… can’t. They’re too pretty.

IMG_7898I love my dad very much. He’s a great dad and a wonderfully interesting person, and on top of that, he’s a marvelously self-sufficient person. He’s in the later stages of building his house, minimally and with intention, and there are few things he needs. He’s a reader, but any book I can think of to gift him he’s likely already read or wouldn’t be interested in. I knitted him a sweater for his birthday last year, and socks a couple years before that, but aside from some chocolate truffles, I was at a loss for what could make a good birthday gift. At 11:05 AM two days ago, I cast on some toes.

IMG_7899By 12:15 PM, I finished increasing my toes and joined the sock color- this is a skein of sock yarn that was hand-dyed by someone in the primitive skills community (unfortunately, I don’t know who), and my dad traded for it a year or so ago. The greens are so pretty, but I don’t think they’re too loud for my dad’s sense of style. The rest of that day was spent on the feet, and I got just about to the heels before I had to call it a night. The next morning, I packed up and headed north to meet my dad for a short birthday hike, unfortunately empty handed. He loved his truffles, but will have to wait to receive these for another couple days. I continued north to my aunts’ house in Charlotte, where I’m housesitting for their dogs (one timid and a little standoffish, one energetic and a little jumpy), rabbit (an absolute delight), chickens (two different kinds, in three different coops), and gorgeous garden. It’s a lovely place for a knitting retreat, particularly this week while I am getting energized for a new job.

IMG_7912By that evening, I had finished my socks’ heels. I plan to get the ankles and cuffs knit up this afternoon and bind them off tonight. That way, they’ll only be three days late for my dad’s birthday. This is my top priority for today- once I finish gift knitting, I can play.

IMG_7915This colorful Noro sock yarn came to me from the stash of my dear, oft-mentioned friend Stephanie. It’s been riding around in my knitting bag since we got back from Oregon, and I’m itching to feel how that rustic Noro knits up. I’m not planning anything fancy, pattern-wise, but I am excited to make them. I’m not sure I’ll have enough to make them particularly tall, so I’m going to utilize my usual trick of adding a toe, heel, and cuff with some neutral contrast yarn. This fingering from KnitPicks is pretty sturdy stuff, so it’ll work beautifully to extend the reach, and the life, of the Noro.

Leave a Reply

