Sarahs knitting shawls: Cozy and complete

With a new year comes a new outlook, and new challenges. While I’ve always thought that the artificial “New Year” demarcation is not as special of a boundary as our culture wants it to be- a resolution made because it’s important to you is much more likely to stick than one made because it happens to be January 1st. So, I’m just as happy to finish things in January as I am to start them. And what’s more exciting than finishing a long, somewhat tedious project to produce a luxuriously lush scarf?

Sarah and I happened to have some free time in the last couple weeks, and we finished our Light and Ups (Lights and Up?) pretty much on the same day. Serendipitous, to be sure! I detailed my blocking process here, and Sarah and I both talked about making tassels and finishing off the little details in our recent posts.

20160104_142928

I intended to make the scarf as long and wide as possible, but I ended up following the general instructions in order to make sure the number of stitches would work to support the lace pattern. As I mentioned, I decided to make three rows of two lace repeats, rather than the prescribed two rows of three repeats, so it turned out being a bit larger, even with the inner triangle remaining the same as the pattern.

20160104_143034(1)

I have to say, my favorite part of this is the tassels- not only are they very cute and festive (without being over-the-top or distracting), they also weigh down those thinner triangle ends to keep them from slipping off! My other shawl ended up needing a button to secure it around my neck, so that the thing didn’t slide down and fall off. This baby, which I have worn every day for the last week, has not slipped off once.

20160108_1503221

I still can’t get over that gorgeous mulberry color- it goes with everything and yet is a total pop of color. Sarah looks lovely and very proud, and I think she did a great job! I had fun comparing our projects as we went, and it seemed we got hung up on some of the same things. It looks like she added a row of lace as well, even with the rows of three lace repeats. It ended up being a great length, and a cozy final product.

What do you think? Did you like our knitalong posts, and should we collaborate more often?

Leave a Reply

