Sarahs knitting shawls: Color matching in Charleston

I was so excited to make this project entirely from my handspun llama/merino mix. I tried to make those two plies as thin as possible, to stretch that wool as far as it would go, but I think the recommended 400 or so yards was too lofty a goal. Was this sweet little cake ever really going to be enough for a luxurious, snuggly Light and Up?

IMG_7497

Well, last week I went to a lovely knitting get-together, and the host happens to be in the strange position of taking responsibility for someone else’s stash. A friend of hers was a collector, of sorts, with a yarn stash that rivals almost any I’ve seen. She had novelty and acrylic yarns, but she also had good stuff- great stuff- and decided she wanted to be rid of it all. I know the feeling, of being overwhelmed and wanting to just purge and start fresh, but to do that with fiber… That’s almost inconceivable to me.

The woman who is now housing all of this yarn is eager to “rehouse” it, so to speak, and so offered a selection to everyone in attendance that night. In addition to a bit of sock yarn in fun colors, she handed me a kit from a small-scale fiber farm, with two colors of silk/merino blend and a pattern for some cute colorworked slipper socks. Since we had been talking about socks, she thought I’d be interested in the pattern (which I totally am!), but to my surprise, it was the wool that ended up winning the day. The darker color, a sandy grayish oatmeal, just so happened to be an exact color and weight match for my handspun. I didn’t think of it at the time, since I had just cast on the shawl, but after seeing it in the light of day, it just clicked.

20151111_132613

Can you even tell which is which, aside from the fact that I mentioned I was starting to run out of my own handspun? How perfect is that?! The colors are indistinguishable, and once the thing is blocked, the textures will bloom right into each other and it’ll just be fabulous. Even with my disappointment in not being able to claim complete involvement in the creation of the shawl, from a bag of fluff on to actually wearing the thing, it feels great to be able to use yarn that’s been passed lovingly from person to person.

4 thoughts on “Sarahs knitting shawls: Color matching in Charleston

  1. I have an opposite problem now. I just finished the red lace scarf, it took FOREVER and was only 50 grams. I just weighed a cone of brown sheep lace weight (and yes I removed the cardboard) and it was 470 grams. If 50 grams took me seven months, what’s the math on 470? It doesn’t bear thinking of! And I don’t WANT a bedspread.

    Like

    1. I’d lean toward doubling it and making it not-so-lace-weight… But my lace experience has not been so rewarding. Whatever you make, I can’t wait to see pictures. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

