It’s a snap

The thing I love about mitts is just how fast they knit up! I can complicate them with lace patterns, cables, or colorwork, and still, they’re the most satisfying thing to work on. I cast on, and I’ve basically made the cuff. I finish the cuff, and I’m basically at the thumb gusset. Knit past the thumb, and the thing is practically done! Add in my compulsion for knitting things in pairs, and boy howdy, they’re a breeze.

20150820_122939

I finished these shortly after the picture was taken, but I just loved the amber light filtering through my peppermint/green tea. What this picture only begins to convey is how perfectly I used up the last of that alpaca. I mean, there were inches left. I’m probably about as proud of that as I am of knocking Mitts Number One (Two? Still no news.) off the list for Rendezvous in October.

What do I do with leftover yarn bits, I hear you thinking? Well, usually they end up in the bottom of my purse for a while. Or on the floor of my car. But when I corral them again, I save them and add them to the ever-dwindling stash of polyfil that I keep on hand for stuffed octopus (and other) creatures. I really can’t do anything else with ten or fewer inches of something, as I generally want at least a foot and a half for a provisional cast-on (I make mine off of a crochet chain, which is pretty much the only thing I can do in the realm of crochet).

2 thoughts on “It’s a snap

  1. You want to make sure not to leave them where a cat can eat them. Luna damn near died last week eating yarn. Scared the crap out of me. Now all yarn stays in tubs and zip bags, and all ends get thrown into a lidded trash can. Yes, I throw my ends away and it feels great! I get a children of hoarders serious thrill from it. But then I don’t throw it out unless it’s three feet or less so it’s not terrible. If it’s pure wool or cotton I compost.

    Like

    1. Oh yeah. Kumquat is okay about yarn, she seems to know that only the stuff that’s ACTUALLY ON THE FLOOR is for her to play with… I thought it was too dangerous to let her associate with any yarn, but she’s been surprisingly good about it. After I pull the scraps out of my purse or knitting bag, I stuff them down into my “fluff bag,” never to see the light of day again. Until they get stuffed into an octopus.

      Like

Leave a Reply

