Trip to NY

This weekend, Wes and I went up to Long Island to visit my family. It was my grandparents’ 60th wedding anniversary celebration, so we were busy and spent a lot of time doing party stuff, and I didn’t get much time to knit. Not that August in NY is a time for knitting…. but that’s coming from a gal who knits in Charleston, so there’s not really much to say about that.

In the airport, I got organized and worked on the stripey socks.
20150806_093149

On the plane to JFK, I finished them.CIMG0475

Here’s me binding off the cuffs, using the Kitchener bind-off that Steph taught me. It was life-changing. A regular bind-off won’t allow much stretch, so for sock cuffs it’ll either be too tight and not fit over your heel (or snap your yarn somewhere) or too loose and slip down. No good. The Kitchener bind-off, which involves basically grafting your knit stitches to your purl stitches as though they’re two separate live ends, gives you the stretch that a sock cuff needs without requiring some whole new bag of tricks. It’s really just Kitchener, although instead of “Knit, purl, purl, knit” it becomes some amorphous version of “Knit, purl, purl, shove-through-whichever-loop-makes-sense-and-don’t-worry-about-it.” When you’re working with two live rows of knit stitches snuggling up against each other, everything is gorgeous. When it’s a row of knit and a row of purl, and you’re coming at them from the same direction, you basically just shove your needle in and move on, thankful that it’s an edge and doesn’t have to look seamless. It’s about as seamy as it can get.

Once we landed and got to my grandparents’, I got to show off the new FO. CIMG0476

Now that I’m back home, I’m starting on the Ladybug socks (probably for Wes, but we’ll see whose feet they fit better once they’re finished). Note a liiiiiiittle bit of progress on the white handspun hat. It’ll be done soon, if I don’t jump into these Ladybug socks with both feet. Pun only sort-of-intended.
20150810_150007

5 thoughts on “Trip to NY

  1. Ha, I’m kitching the Tubular bind off tonight and thinking of you because I finally realized the only sensible way to make baby socks out of leftovers was toe up! You’ve converted me to the toe Up.

    IMG_4698.jpeg

    Like

      1. Very cute. 🙂 With little tiny booties, the question of running out of yarn is a little less pressing, but that doesn’t make the technique any less awesome/helpful.

        Like

    1. Yes! I knew you’d see the light!

      Toe-up means you can make them even (even if you’re working with two ends of the same skein) without worrying about having enough, you can DEFINITELY have toes on both socks, and you can try them on as you go, which is especially useful if you’re making tall socks with questionable calf measurements! It’s the only way!

      Like

      1. I have a pathological need to make sure there are no leftovers. These tiny socks will have a mere four inches of yarn left at the end of the bindoff, just enough to weave in and cut off, all I can bear to throw out when done. And the socks were because I knew there wasn’t enough of this stuff left to do heels and toes of grownup socks.

        Like

Leave a Reply

